top of page
  • Writer's pictureAB

I Need Some Magic, Dammit



It was July 2020, and I was floating in the pool. A typical summer weekend. Daydreaming about the Caribbean cruise my family just booked for spring 2021. Confident was I that by then we could safely resume vacationing. Sure, we might have to wear masks, but how bad could it be in 2021?


Then it was August 2020, and I was still floating in the pool. A typical summer weekend. A extra month of quarantine under my belt, and still daydreaming about the beach. Then it struck me. A genius idea. Why not tack-on a trip to Walt Disney World while we're in Florida? Orlando isn't too far of a drive from Fort Lauderdale, and we could make up for all of the cancelled vacations in 2020. It took some arm twisting, but the family agreed that our 9-year hiatus from Disney needed to be broken.


We needed some magic, dammit.


So we booked our trip to Walt Disney World, taking advantage of the free cancellation policy and discounted hotel offers. I spent hours (literally months) pouring over travel guides, vlogs, and more to reacquaint myself with Disney, and the ever-changing policies in place to safely resume operations amidst a global pandemic.


Then it was December 2020, and my pool float was replaced with a warm blanket and a spot by the fireplace and Christmas tree. Casually I flipped through my emails. The email from Holland America Line caught my eye. They regretted to inform me that our spring Caribbean cruise had been cancelled. Sigh. An all too familiar sadness overcame my family. Well, at least we still have Disney.


In future blog posts I hope to provide some insight into my travel experience during COVID-19. Maybe, just maybe, if I wish upon a star, this trip won't be cancelled!


AB


2 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page