top of page
  • Writer's pictureAB

What I Learned On My First Cruise

Updated: May 28, 2019


cruise, wave, blog, What I Learned On My First Cruise

I've always been anti-cruise for the obvious reasons. I don't want to be stuck on a boat with annoying "cruise people." I don't want to feel like cattle, having to push and shove my way on/off the boat at crowded port towns. And don't get me started on port towns! You know the ones - the kind that sell the same t-shirts, hats, and over-priced sunscreen. Not to mention the rows of International Diamond Exchanges and similar duty-free shops with overbearing salesclerks that can spot a sunburned tourist from a mile away. Yeah...I've always been anti-cruise.


So, you'd be surprised that I recently went on my first cruise ever...and already have my next cruise booked. Has my heart warmed to cruising? Yes. Here's why.



In March I went on an 11-day Southern Caribbean cruise aboard Holland America Line's MS Koningsdam. Unlike most of the Caribbean cruises I see commercials for, Holland America is less about entertaining the kiddos and more about exceptional service, dining, and onboard/land experiences. In other words, there were no rock-climbing walls, screaming kids, water slides or other kid-centric amenities to be found. Instead, the ship offered a variety of nightly entertainment (comedians, dueling pianos, singers, BBC Earth concerts, etc.), cooking classes, a spa, trivia, movies by the pool, a private ocean-view cabana and veranda, and exceptional dining. The staff were pleasant, accommodating, and knew my name (without a name-tag!). I certainly never felt like cattle...but if I was, it would have been Kobe.



Regardless of whether or not the Holland America experience is the right one for you, there are many pros and cons to cruising. Here are a few:


Cruising Pros:

  • Packing: cruises don't have the same restrictions as airlines when it comes to the number of bags you can bring or the volume of fluids in your carry-on or luggage (the exception being alcohol).

  • Unpacking: imagine visiting six countries in 11-days and only unpacking and re-packing once. It's pretty awesome.

  • Unlimited (with Limitations): There's no shortage of food aboard most cruises. I appreciated the variety of offerings from formal, sit-down, buffet, and quick-serve. Sometimes you just want a cup of curly fries after an afternoon in the pool! While the majority of the food is free, there are a few specialty places that do charge. Similarly, I did have a Signature Drink Package, which limited me to 15 drinks under $9 a day (excluding coffee, water and OJ). I probably drank more than I needed to in order to get my money's worth of the package.

  • Cleanliness: hygiene and sanitation are taken very seriously aboard the ships. Motion censored hand-washing and/or anti-bacterial stations are located near all dining areas.

  • Sea Days: before cruising I was most worried about getting bored on sea days. My experience was the opposite. There was too much to do on sea days that relaxing in the cabana with a book was short lived.

  • Laundry: most ships have laundry services available, and they cost less than an overweight bag.

  • Travel: this may seem obvious, but cruising was a very relaxing way to travel to lots of unique and beautiful destinations...



Cruising Cons:

  • Travel: ...but while you get to see a lot of places, you're only there for a short time (6-8 hours depending on the port). You won't see everything, and not much of anything if you don't leave the port towns.

  • Port Towns: my description of port towns above is fairly accurate. These are the streets that are within walking or ferry distance from the ports. They can be crowded and after seeing one you've seen them all (with exceptions of course). Martinique's Fort-de-France was very walkable and the farther from the port I got the less I felt like a "cruise person." Hurricane stripped Philipsburg, in Dutch Sint Maartin, was teeming with locals selling wifi and beach umbrellas. Bridgetown Barbados' pier bottlenecks tourists into a taxi depot and is conveniently located far enough away from the popular attractions to merit a price fixed ride into town.

  • Expensive Excursions: So you resolve all of this with expensive excursions booked through the cruise line. Sure, you can do your own thing and save a few bucks, but if your car breaks down, you're stuck in traffic, or you have an emergency - the ship will leave you. It's important to note that the ship will wait 30 min-1 hour after all-aboard, but after that you're on your own to get to the next port. The ship excursions I went on were worth every penny - not to mention the peace of mind.

  • Seasickness: I did experience seasickness on the first two days of the cruise. We were in the Atlantic and the crew even mentioned how unusually choppy the water was. Ships have giant stabilizers, which help significantly. However, I found myself "Jack Sparrowing" my way back to the room more than a few times. Non-drowsy Dramamine, ginger tablets, ginger ale and light snacking all worked great for me. You can also get prescription patches if needed (before you leave - of course!).

  • Departure: I was shocked to learn that guests must put their checked luggage out in the hall the night before departure. You won't see your bag again until you've disembarked at the cruise terminal, or if you've paid for airport transfer, when you're at baggage claim after arriving home. Not having to lug a suitcase heavy with t-shirts and tchotchkes was definitely a pro, but it was a hassle having to keep up with a change of clothes and my toiletries in my airline carry-on.



I learned a few tricks during the trip, too.:

  • Use multi-colored towel clips to identify your wash cloth and towels when sharing a bathroom with family or friends. Towel clips also allow you to keep the shower door closed if the ship is rocking. And you can use them to hang-dry clothes in the shower or veranda.

  • Bring suction cup hooks to hold any shower accessories you may need. Bathroom storage is very limited.

  • Use magnetic hooks/clips to store beach bags, hats, etc. on the cabin walls to save space in the closet.

  • Especially on larger ships, place balloons or streamers outside your cabin door to help your cabin stand out in long hallways of sameness. I didn't do this, but I sure benefitted from a neighbor's ingenuity!


Planning a trip to the Caribbean? Check out the Caribbean Going Places page for some trip planning inspiration.


AB


49 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

留言


bottom of page