top of page
  • Writer's pictureAB

The Tower of London - Yeoman Warder Tour

Updated: May 10, 2018

I've visited The Tower of London twice, and both times I've planned my trip to align with the Yeoman Warder (or Beefeater) guided tours. This is a free, English speaking, tour in which the Yeoman walk you through the palace grounds and briefly explain what it is you're looking at. I've found that this helps to orient me on the property, while giving me much needed historical context that's not offered without a tour book or guide waving an umbrella in the air. Those on the Yeoman Warder guided tour have exclusive access to the on-site chapel, where more than 2,000 bodies (Anne Boleyn among them) were buried after being executed on Tower Hill. I've found the Yeoman Warders to be quite humorous, poking fun a the tourists who romanticize the past...specifically the bloody Tudors.


In my experience, the last guided tour is offered at 3:30, and the Tower closes promptly at 5:30. Lines can be long at ticketing, The Bloody Tower, and the Crown Jewels (0:30-0:45 each). I recommend arriving at the Tower early and allowing yourself 3-4 hours total to experience the highlights. I'm not a plaque reader, but it still takes me this long to get through the property. Expect crowds in the summer months.


To learn more about these popular guided tours, click here: https://www.hrp.org.uk/tower-of-london/explore/yeoman-warders/


Planning your trip to Great Britain? Visit the Great Britain page on my blog for tips, videos and recommendations.


AB

7 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page