top of page
  • Writer's pictureAB

Sunside | Sunset

Updated: May 10, 2018

July 01, 2017

Eurostar 9031 - Coach 9 Seat 34

Paris Gare Du Nord


After arriving back in Paris we went to a jazz club - Sunside | Sunset. The venue had a stage upstairs and downstairs (hence the name). The place was packed! We were lucky to find a seat.


The stage was small, but tightly fit a pianist, two saxophone players, a cellist, and a drummer. The lights were dim and orange, which cast a hunting shadow against the brick walls in the jazz den. The drummer looked possessed at times as he beat the drums and cymbals. At one point it looked like his eyes rolled back into his head.


When the band finished they had to weave between the bodies in the crowd to get to the bar. The two sax players stopped at my chair, said something to me in French (Lord, if I knew what they said), and one grabbed the lapel of my trench coat and laughed. I assume it was the French way of saying -"Take off your coat and stay a while!"


Paris is alive, but I'm glad to be going back home to London.



Planning your trip to France? Visit the France page on my blog for tips, videos and recommendations.


AB

12 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comentarios


bottom of page