top of page
  • Writer's pictureAB

Lone Star Court | Austin, TX

Texans love to hate I-35. I'm no exception. The trek is tedious and lined with construction hazards and "road gators." Nights are dark and storms are unbearable. Yet, this Texas artery is a necessity for most north/south road trips.


On a recent trip to San Antonio I decided to break up the drive with an overnight in Austin, TX. It had been a few years since my last visit to Austin-proper (I'll not count a few trips to the nearby Texas hill country), and my first visit during the Covid-19 pandemic. I wanted to safely see a few sites during my visit, but avoid expensive parking and downtown hotel costs.



Having done some research on hotels a few years ago, I already had a few hotel options in mind. Ultimately, I ended up booking a stay at Lone Star Court.


Lone Star Court is located at the Domain, an upscale outdoor mall, in North Austin. The property is decorated with a Texas mid-century modern style, a blend of tin, yucca and bright color blocking. The rooms were effortlessly cool. A modern nod to Texas and Austin's good time and chill vibes personality.



At check-in, I was offered a frosty Lone Star, a welcome treat after an afternoon of driving. My room, a ground floor standard king room, had a rocking chair out front. Inside, I had a couch, coffee table and a full-size retro refrigerator filled with beer, Topo Chicos and other treats.

After freshening up and settling in, I made the 20 minute drive into downtown Austin to enjoy the great bat exodus at dusk under the Ann Richards Congress Ave. Bridge. I've always loved bats, and this is a fantastic way to experience them at a safe distance each night from April-October.


Before heading back to the hotel, I grabbed a quick dinner, which I brought back to enjoy in one of the many Adirondack encircled fire pits at the hotel's central courtyard.


Lone Star Court was one of the more unique hotels that I've had a chance to stay at in Texas. It broke up the long drive to San Antonio, while allowing me to enjoy an afternoon in the capital.


Happy trails.


AB


4 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page