top of page
  • Writer's pictureAB

An Over-packer's Guide to Packing Like A Pro

Updated: Jun 2, 2018

I'll be the first to admit that I'm an over-packer. The "overweight" tag on my luggage is a familiar sight. If you're like me you've probably caught yourself saying, "what if it gets cold," or "I might need this, and don't want to buy it there." Too many times have I had to lug my overweight bag across a gravel road, or heave it into a taxi trunk. "No more," I say!


Traveling abroad has forced me to rethink my packing etiquette. Hotel rooms are small, foreign airlines have expensive luggage policies, and shipping purchases that won't fit in my already stuffed bag is just impractical. Not to mention the sore arms and back from tugging a 50lb.+ bag around. Here are my self-tested packing tips to pack like a pro:


Clothes:

Clothes make up the most bulk and weight in your bag. Smart travelers plan ahead and wear their heavier clothing on the flight (jeans, boots, coats, etc.). While this doesn't help with getting through security at the airports, it does help with luggage weights.


In my experience, overpacking usually happens when I wait until the last minute to pack. I haven't thought through my outfits - yes, outfits. I pack lots of options because, "I don't know what I'll feel like wearing once I get there." Cue the shrill "eeeeeehhhh" of a game show buzzer. To avoid this I start planning my outfits 1-2 weeks before packing. I start by getting out a clothes rack and filling it with all of the clothes I'd consider taking on the trip. This includes shoes, accessories, coats, swimsuits, etc. Then I try on the outfit combinations and ask myself the following:

  • Will I actually wear this? Is this comfortable? Practical? Cute? Or am I pretending to look like I'm on vacation? Remember, you'll actually be wearing these clothes (rain or shine) and looking like a Pinterest blogger isn't going to make your luggage lighter. If there's any question, put it in the maybe stack - you don't want to waste space or weight on clothes you won't end up wearing.

  • Can I wear this outfit twice if I change out my pants or an accessory? If not, consider not taking it. Dresses that can be dressed down with a denim jacket and sneakers and dressed up with a necklace/scarf and wedges are smarter options to pack.

  • Are these shoes comfortable and transitional? Can I wear them all day/every day with 60%+ of what I'm packing? If not, why am I bringing them?


Luggage:

Don't take your biggest suitcase. Don't even look at it. A medium roller bag and carry-on (backpack, weekender bag, or giant purse) should suffice. I have to remind myself that I was able to travel in Europe for 3-weeks with this much luggage, so a week-long trip shouldn't require any more than that.


When packing, always leave yourself a little room for anything new you will purchase on the trip. It's hard to know what you'll purchase, but I usually save enough room for the equivalent of a pair of sneakers. If I know I'll purchase lots of bulky items (ex. wool scarves in Scotland), I may pack a collapsable carry-on bag in my suitcase before I leave. NEVER use the expanders on your suitcase when you're packing. Save those for the return flight when you have more to lug.


Also, if you're flying on regional airlines outside of the U.S., be sure to check their luggage policies. Carry-on luggage dimensions and weights may vary from what you're used to in the states. Expect to pay extra for bags weighing over 40lbs.


Packing Cubes:

Packing cubes are life-changing. You can buy these almost anywhere now (Container Store, Target, Amazon, etc.), in a variety of shapes and sizes. These make packing and unpacking so much easier, as you can categorize your clothes while packing smarter. I usually use 4-5 cubes each time I travel, and organize my clothes accordingly:

  1. Accessories: scarves/jewelry/gloves

  2. Shirts: I'll roll up my shirts so they don't get wrinkled. It's easy to grab a shirt without having to refold any of the others.

  3. Pants/Dresses: I'll roll up my pants/dresses/skirts so they don't get wrinkled. It's easy to grab an option without having to refold any of the others.

  4. Intimates: Having intimates all in one place makes getting ready in the morning a breeze.

  5. Sleepwear: Having a separate cube for bedtime makes it easy to unwind after a long day of traveling. This includes my eye-mask and ear plugs.

I usually don't waste a cube on shoes. Instead, I save hotel shower caps or plastic shopping bags to wrap around my shoes. That way I don't have to worry about my luggage or clothes getting soiled.


Hair:

Sigh. This one is hard. Everyone's hair is different, and depending on the weather conditions wherever you're going you may need to take certain precautions to ensure your hair looks its best. For me, this means traveling with a hairdryer (because most hotel hair-driers are a joke), two kinds of brushes, a straightener, a wet-hair comb, clips, and leave-in conditioner (not to mention shampoo and conditioner). I'd guess this weighs 7-10lbs, and takes up 1/4 of my suitcase. Again, cue the shrill "eeeeeehhhh" of a game show buzzer. I've learned the hard way that this is not acceptable. If I'm going somewhere where it's muggy or rainy, I no longer bother with the hairdryer and straightener. I swap these for a curling iron and travel size bottle of curling gel - own it! If I'm going to be outside swimming or hiking, I replace the hair-drier for a mound of hair-ties and a cute hat. Ultimately, your hair will be dictated by the conditions, so keep that in mind when packing.


When traveling abroad, consider purchasing "necessary" hair heat tools there. Don't bother with converting voltage and adapting plugs. You'll fry your equipment and end up having to purchase something there anyway. It's better to go "au-natural," but if that's not an option, I recommend swinging into a convenience store to purchase something suitable there. Nice hotels may have spare hairdryers or straighteners available - just call the front desk and ask!


Laundry:

I always bring a laundry bag with me when traveling to store clothes that are not fit to be worn again. Be sure to let dirty clothes air out before packing in the laundry bag. This is especially important if you're on the move and not unpacking your suitcase for the extent of your stay in a certain destination. If you're staying at an Airbnb or hotel, opt to do laundry there. It's cheaper to do laundry than have an overweight suitcase.


Helpful Resources:


AB

20 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page